{chicken pot pie}

2 Sep

{at the table later that night}

Although temperatures pushed 90-degrees this weekend, I decided to make something warm and hearty for Sunday dinner to offer my boyfriend something familiar while he got over a summer cold (which are always more terrible than winter ones). The process was a bit tricky compared to the usual simple dishes I make, but in the end it was well worth it and I’m proud to say that I’ll definitely make pot pies again when the weather gets cooler. In order to make the preparation a bit easier on myself, I decided to use a combination of the chicken pot pie recipes by Tyler Florence and Ina Garten (the former required breaking down a full chicken and simmering for 45 minutes: no, and the latter making pastry dough from scratch: no. By combining both recipes, I cut out the hard work and streamlined the process for a result that was gooey, comforting and every bit as flaky as I remembered from childhood.

{olive oil, salt, pepper, and a bit of Parmesan on top}

One Response to “{chicken pot pie}”

  1. Jenna Knowles September 2, 2010 at 9:35 am #

    Looks great!

Leave a Reply

