Recipe for your Weekend: Scalloped Tomatoes

27 Aug

Can a single vegetable be your favorite food? I’m such a foodie that I can’t really put my finger on a single favorite dish– but I do know that it for me it requires the presence of tomato, especially since I started growing my own a couple of months ago. When it was frosty and cold out, I stumbled across this recipe for scalloped tomatoes: a variation on a popular dish traditionally made with potatoes I’ve been wanting to try for when tomatoes came into season. The last time I remember eating scalloped potatoes was out of a box– so the fresh ingredients in this tomato dish proved to create a far superior casserole-type meal. The best part was that it was incredibly easy; all it requires it sauteing some day-old bread cubes , tossing the tomatoes with basil and other flavors and then baking it to create a crumbly Parmesan layer on top.

Leave a Reply

