Tomatillo Salsa with Pan-Fried Quesadillas

29 Jun

Last week at the supermarket, I decided that I had passed by these curious little green tomatoes too many times not not buy a pound or so. I wasn’t sure how to tell if they were good or not, but I took my chances, grabbed a couple of jalapenos and decided to make a salsa. It wasn’t until I was home that I actually bothered to glance at a recipe; but it turns out I had the right things in my pantry to complete the salsa (which never happens to me). After some roasting, chopping, and pureeing, the end result was a smooth, green blend of chip-dippable refreshment that I will definitely be making again. Although broiling things in the oven of my new house tends to make the house sweltering hot, the sweet, spicy smell of the tomatoes that accompanied the process was well worth the heat.

Note: I would call this salsa mild. I am definitely someone who likes me food painfully spicy– so I’d recommend adding 2 1/2- 3 jalapenos to get it somewhere in the medium-hot range.

Leave a Reply

