Summer Love

14 Jun

After unseasonably hot June days that have turned into cold, damp ones, I was able to get a taste of summer then retreat back inside to reflect on my must-haves for the season. I am so gleeful that certain trends like sequins, gladiators, studs, and skinnies are here to stay for yet another season. I  also love that the new trends below are easy to mix with the above.  These featured picks are all thing’s I’ve bought that have become staples to my summer season.

{Clockwise from the Top}

  • All for the Denim: I was reluctant to embrace the wearing of denim shirts that’s made a predominant appearance lately for fear of being called “Denim Dan” by my boyfriend. Let’s face it–from the time that people have started wearing denim clothing, there’s always been a person  (whom my boyfriend calls the above nickname) who’s went over the top to create a full outfit of monochromatic denim. I think we are seeing that the key is to mix your shades of denim when wearing all together, or just wear the shirt as the only denim piece in the outfit. I’m excited for this dark one to arrive in the mail for me today.
  • Pool-Blue Nails: I am still rocking this shade that I started wearing a few months ago, and am delighted to find that it matches the bottom of my pool perfectly. I’m excited to try something slightly darker, like Essie’s Lapis of Luxury pictured above. It reminds me of the glittery blue nails I had when I was 12, but in a shade that’s slightly less juvenile (and not worn chipped for weeks at a time).
  • Minty Dinnerware: After receiving a 1950’s green stand mixer as a gift, I’ve been obsessed with cramming every shade of green that I can into my kitchen, especially those hues of mint and olive that were so fondly part of our mid-century culture. These Anthropologie Latte Bowls come in every fun color you can think of, and at their low price, I fully intend to own them all someday.
  • The Little White Dress: Although the LBD will always be hailed as a classic, I am glad it’s been given a rest in favor of the Little Blue number as well as this new idea of the Little White Dress. There is nothing as sweet as a thigh-skimming white sundress with adorable detals like lace or ruffles. I’ve purchased one almost identical to this F21 mini– and I find myself washing it over and over after it’s been lived in on a hot, sunny day.
  • Dusty-Pink Accessories: I’ve never been much of a bright-pink kinda gal, but this shade of dusty pink is something I can very easily incorporate into everyday wear. I’m wearing a gray dress to a wedding next month, and I love the idea of pairing this TopShop clutch with it to create a sweet, Spring-like aesthetic.
  • Nautical Stripes: As a short gal, I probably shouldn’t wear horizontal stripes, but I love this trend too much to care. I bought this glittery boatneck tee at J Crew last month and it’s taken some discipline to not go back and buy it’s watermelon-colored counterpart as well.
  • Chunky Heels: I tried these on in black at my local Steve Madden a few months back and decided I just couldn’t fork out the money at the time, but kept referencing them in too many conversations as heels that felt like “pillows”on my feet to not buy them. After a particularly trying day at work, I found myself trying on the black, the nude and the white/silver pairs and smiling with joy. I am glad I ultimately picked the nude pair, as they actually make a 5′ 0” gal’s legs look like they have some length to contend with those of average height.
One Response to “Summer Love”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Strap Me In « Savor the Sweet - July 8, 2010

    […] think they’d add some edge to this lacy dress, denim shirt and striped boatneck, and could be instantly transformed into booties if I […]

Leave a Reply

