A Few of My Favorite Things…

25 May

Waking up at ungodly hours in the morning to fight morning traffic and working my lunch hour away has left little time for treating myself to anything besides expensive energy drinks. I thought it’d be wildly appropriate to post some of my favorite things that help me relax– for you to read and for me to remind myself when the going gets rough at my new job.

{Clockwise from Left to Right}

1) Aromatherapy Lavender Vanilla Bubble Bath by Bath & Body Works: I love the milky texture of this bubble bath I received a Christmas gift. I’m trying to save the last few drops for a really stressful day, but I think my hectic work schedule warrants the purchase of another bottle.

2) Dirty Martinis: It’s becoming a bit embarrassing how frequently I mention my favorite drink on my blog. It’s true, my cocktail waitress days have instilled in my a fine appreciation for the perfect mix of vodka and olive juice.  The pizza place across the street from my apartment mixes this drink well– the perfect pairing with thin crust pizza and gelatto for dessert.

3) Sleepytime Extra Tea by Celestial Seasonings: Since the Celestial Seasoning’s headquarters are located just a few miles outside of the town I went to college, many of the women in my life live on their classic blends of wellness tea. My mother is a fan of regular Sleepytime, and one of my best friends,  Jenna loves their blend for easing tension. A former co-worker turned me onto the Sleepytime Extra blend– which literally has a warning on the box due to it’s potency. I love the way it eases you softly to sleep without grogginess in the morning.

4) Parlez-vous OPI? nail laquer by OPI: This is my absolute favorite color of nail polish. It’s the perfect mixture of softness, brightness and shine, which makes it great for both fall and summer fingers and toes. I heard a rumor that it’s being discontinued– and my fingers are crossed that I can find another purple polish that does this one justice.

5) Sour Gummy Worms:  Since I’m addicted to sugar, it takes a pretty sugary treat to satisfy intense cravings. I’ve loved sour gummies since I was tiny; I guess you just don’t outgrow some of your favorites– no matter how high the dental bill.

6) Poppies: These are my all-time favorite flower. Although I’ve yet to receive them as a gift (you just don’t see them at the flower shop) I can’t wait to attempt to grow these whimsical, punchy flowers in my new garden, and my far-distant dream wedding would never be complete without them. I’ve even seriously contemplated a tattoo– but for now we’ll just leave them to the garden.

7) Converse Sneakers: Although I never had a pair as a small child, I’ve rocked these sneakers since high school and haven’t stopped buying a pair every couple of years or so. After owning bright colors like orange, I’m now onto the ones pictured here. I look forward to many more years of growing with this brand– one I’ll gladly wear even after I’m old and gray.

One Response to “A Few of My Favorite Things…”

  1. Jenna May 25, 2010 at 9:05 am #

    I love the tension tamer! Good stuff 🙂

Leave a Reply

