A Gal’s Guide to Boulder

10 Mar

If you’ve ever seen a South Park episode, you are probably assured that Boulder, Colorado has nothing to offer besides dread locks and hemp necklaces. While where I live does have it’s fair share of free spirits, I’d like to think of Boulder more as it’s displayed in the movie Catch and Release: a fun, hip mecca for the creative, the smart, and perhaps overly-happy .

  • {Best Salon} 1020 Salon . This summer, I went here for a much-needed manicure, and I was absolutely delighted. Once you pick your polish, you are treated to diet coke, M&M’s, and fun, girly shows on a giant TV screen (maybe this would draw a man here?…). My manicurist even opened my soda for me while I let my polish dry, relaxed, and watched “Friends” on their huge, comfy couches. If you’re like me and have girlfriends who aren’t so big on spending their grocery budget on a nail-makeover; you can come for the girls’ nights on Wednesdays where you can get pretty and enjoy girly flicks like  The Princess Bride.
  • {Best Sushi} Hapa. I love that I never know what to expect from Hapa. Some nights, it will be quiet and mellow, and other nights, house music will blast to make you feel bright, happy and wanting just one more saki. Their California rolls are always satisfying, and for more indulgent rolls I like the shrimp tempura or the “orgasm” roll, a California roll wrapped in salmon with soy and cream sauces. Their saki-infused martinis are perfectly blended. Great for fun dates or ladies’ nights.
  • {Best Vintage Store} Goldmine Vintage. An easy walk from the Univ. of Colorado, this was a dangerous spot for me as an undergrad. Goldmine has a wide array of fun graphic tees, floral ruffle dresses, and vintage boots. I could spend hours in this tiny store. I am thinking of going back for a pair of feather earrings soon…
  • {Best Jewelry Store} Angie Star. I’m now the proud owner of two beautiful pieces from this local shop. A group of truly gorgeous, talented female artists keep this adorable shop running. For Christmas, my boss treated us all to a piece from this store.I got to walk around, try on beautiful jewelery, sip champagne and talk to Angie herself about which to choose. I ended up deciding on the hammered metal circles piece below, and met the artist who made it. A few weeks later, a monogrammed “A” hammered metal necklace appeared in my jewelry wardrobe…

Even if you can’t afford to buy a piece just this moment, go there  to just look and listen to Angie’s soothing voice tell you about some truly wonderful women and lovely metals and stones.

{Neck candy}

  • {Best Small Bites} The Mediterranean. I have yet to hear anything but a rave review about what Boulderites fondly call “The Med”. Their happy hour (every night from 3 PM- 6:30 PM) is filled with incredible tapas like falafel, lamb, and brick-oven pizza. My favorites are: grilled hangar steak, queso adobo (Spanish cheese, yum!) and prosciutto-wrapped melon. Their sangrias are also on a great happy-hour special, and I have yet to decide whether or not red or white is better. I’ve had the best girl-time here!
  • {Best Hangover-Curing Breakfast} The Buff. Named for our well-loved school mascot Ralphie the buffalo, this place always packed. The hostess could tell my friends and I that the wait is six hours and we’d still sit in their homey front entrance for a table. Once, my dad and I met Yonder Mountain Stringband frontman Jeff Austin whilst enjoying breakfast at The Buff.  You can’t really beat 99-cent bloody mary’s or mimosas, so sometimes I get one of each. If I’m feeling a little to0 hungover, getting an iced-coffee or sweet lemonade in a Mason-jar glass is the next best thing. Whether your in a biscuits and gravy, hearty omelette or breakfast burrito mood, you will find something that will fill you beyond capacity with home-style cooking. The rosemary breakfast potatoes come standard with just about everything, and the pecan-caramel quesadilla is pretty much illegal not to order for a breakfast dessert.

{I’ve really only just scratched the surface here, so look for more Best of Boulder posts in the future. So next time you’re skiing in Aspen, take the drive down to Boulder, no questions asked.}

One Response to “A Gal’s Guide to Boulder”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Decorating the Nook: Bathroom Counter « Savor the Sweet - March 20, 2010

    […] {Various nail polish and pearl earrings, Fancy by Jessica Simpson perfume + moisturizer, Daisy by Marc Jacobs perfumes+ roller, Strawberry Flowers by Fresh fragrance, Ginger-Vanilla room spray, Korres Eco-Friendly Face Primer,  Ann Taylor flower pin, Bare Escentuals eye-makeup primer, pink lipgloss lips, vanilla-mint lipgloss, root beer lipgloss, nude lipstick, Sephora matte lipstick in Mat 01, Angie Star hammered-metal necklaces} […]

Leave a Reply

