I know Christmas is over but…

9 Mar

Santa, can you bring me a KitchenAid mixer? I will set up the tree again and everything. And, you know I’m good for cookies with this baby…

Ever since I discovered that I like baking and cooking, I’ve wanted a KitchenAid stand mixer. The vintage mixer I have is great for mixing together easy batters like cookies and muffins, but when it came to making this Barefoot Contessa scone recipe last week, it just didn’t hold up.

Yes, I strayed from the recipe a a bit by using all-purpose wheat flour instead of white, but should kneading scone dough be so intense that I can consider it my cardio for the day? I think not.

So yes, they were still pretty good. However, my lessons learned are:

1) It doesn’t really matter if you use whole wheat flour in a recipe that has a cup of heavy cream and a stick and a half of butter. I’m gonna just stick to the indulgence of the true recipe next time.

2) I need a KitchenAid. I’ll take one powder blue to match my vintage style kitchen next year. Yellow will do just as nicely. Or even olive green.

2 Responses to “I know Christmas is over but…”

  1. Lexie March 9, 2010 at 4:19 pm #

    i work in a bakery and we have this GIANT blakesley mixer that puts the kitchenaid mixer to shame! it’s incredible how quickly that thing can whip a pound of butter!

    • Amanda March 9, 2010 at 5:47 pm #

      working in a bakery sounds like my favorite kind of job! I hope your like Maggie Gyllenhaal’s character in Stranger Than Fiction. Badass. Apparently scones take an industrial mixer…. so I’ll look into that.

Leave a Reply

