Home Sweet Kitchen

3 Mar

When it comes to furniture, I’ve always skated by with the bare minimum (bed, nightstand, desk and a papasan chair) thanks to the furniture collections of my various college room mates. While moving in with my boyfriend + other  couple this year has afforded me the opportunity to skate by once again, I can’t help but dream of the kitchen I’ve always wanted and try to select some pieces for next year’s new apartment.

Since I’m drawn to simple furniture with  rounded edges and bright colors, these characteristics naturally lend themselves to a 1960’s aesthetic.

These scoop-back chairs from West Elm are exactly the kind of thing I’ve been looking for to pair with my vintage olive-green mixer (it still works!)

I’m also acquiring an old powder-blue 50’s icebox from my boyfriend’s generous family that I think will lend another charming bright element perfect for storing my martini glasses and shaker.

Although I’m more prone to pick the yellow turmeric bloom print or the gray stripes, I love the idea of pairing the cream color with an espresso-colored table like this Parsons dining table (also from West Elm) to give the room a more modern style, and to avoid a kitchen looking like it belongs in the Smithsonian’s collection of memorabilia from Bewitched.

One Response to “Home Sweet Kitchen”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. I know Christmas is over but… « Savor the Sweet - March 9, 2010

    […] I need a KitchenAid. I’ll take one powder blue to match my vintage style kitchen next year. Yellow will do just as nicely. Or even olive […]

Leave a Reply

